Isaiah 59:21 The Promise and Glory of our Redemption

Isaiah5921Willows

I opened to Isaiah 59 this morning and read aloud. My heart was swept into the power of the words. When I read 59:21, I felt as if the LORD was speaking His Living Word. The flood of His Spirit was rushing into and through the words in a way that was tangible. My heart shook. Joy rushed in…

I had been through a few dark days and nights. Illness isolated me. Pain kept me from reading the Bible. I wasn’t able to see all the ones that I love on Sunday and Pray, Worship and Praise! All of His Promises do not disappear if we, our mortal selves become temporarily disabled. Our Spiritual vision and senses are being tested to become more acute. When it feels like a war, we-you and especially me, need to put on the Helmet of Salvation.

Isaiah 59:17 “he put on righteousness as his breastplate, and the helmut of salvation on his head”.

I liked Ellicott’s commentary on Isaiah 59:21 and I hope that you enjoy the Photo with the Gospel Quote. Love, Linda

Ellicott’s Commentary Charles Ellicott-Wikipedia

(21) As for me, this is my covenant . . .—The words are, as to their form, an echo of Genesis 17:4; as to their meaning, the germ of Jeremiah 31:31; Hebrews 8:10; Hebrews 10:16. The new covenant is to involve the gift of the Spirit, that writes the law of God inwardly in the heart, as distinct from the Law, which is thought of as outside the conscience, doing its work as an accuser and a judge.

Hebrews 8:10-11
The High Priest of a New Covenant
8 Now the main point of what we are saying is this: We do have such a high priest, who sat down at the right hand of the throne of the Majesty in heaven, 2 and who serves in the sanctuary, the true tabernacle set up by the Lord, not by a mere human being.

3 Every high priest is appointed to offer both gifts and sacrifices, and so it was necessary for this one also to have something to offer. 4 If he were on earth, he would not be a priest, for there are already priests who offer the gifts prescribed by the law. 5 They serve at a sanctuary that is a copy and shadow of what is in heaven. This is why Moses was warned when he was about to build the tabernacle: “See to it that you make everything according to the pattern shown you on the mountain.”[a] 6 But in fact the ministry Jesus has received is as superior to theirs as the covenant of which he is mediator is superior to the old one, since the new covenant is established on better promises.

7 For if there had been nothing wrong with that first covenant, no place would have been sought for another. 8 But God found fault with the people and said[b]:

“The days are coming, declares the Lord,
when I will make a new covenant
with the people of Israel
and with the people of Judah.
9 It will not be like the covenant
I made with their ancestors
when I took them by the hand
to lead them out of Egypt,
because they did not remain faithful to my covenant,
and I turned away from them,
declares the Lord.
10 This is the covenant I will establish with the people of Israel
after that time, declares the Lord.
I will put my laws in their minds
and write them on their hearts.
I will be their God,
and they will be my people.

Hebrews 10:16

16 “This is the covenant I will make with them
after that time, says the Lord.
I will put my laws in their hearts,
and I will write them on their minds.”[a]

Your thoughts, feelings and reflections are welcome, just like you!

