“Reach, Hold a Star. Keep it Near, duly Sown.” ~Poetry by Linda Willows

As the stir grew on to a deep might call,
I was soon to learn the ache of a fall.
The crush of a thousand starlight’s night
Had arrived while I slept dreaming of fate’s plight.

Silence gripped the will of all lost and fallen days.
Soul prints leap out to trace each line in harm’s way;
Tender reach ran throughout myself without touch.
My Heartbeat felt hit and stilled once too much.
Something long hidden fell away from thorns clutch.

All seemed alone in some memory stone
Kept, long ago far and away from a home.
Not from my garden, this no one could own.
Voice-“Reach, hold a star. Keep it near, duly sown,
Into the linings of All; my true dreams alone.”

Stay close to me now, through day or the night
When I rise, stir to wake; all now seems bright
By the grace of one thousand, or more if I am right,
Lighted stars sown into the inside of my sight.

©2012 Linda Willows

 

 

.

18 thoughts on ““Reach, Hold a Star. Keep it Near, duly Sown.” ~Poetry by Linda Willows

  1. Loss, redemption, fate pressing against our own life’s expression. Listening to the inner voice, the one that clamors for our ears, begs our attention, and when we behold it for a moment our eyes learn what light truly is. Linda – I truly enjoy your poetry, it asks to be read more than once so it can be knitted into the mind – Peter

    Like

  2. So much light given so freely and “sown into the inside of my sight.” Let us hold every bit of the light we are sent in like manner!

    Like

  3. Linda, your soul shines throughout the second stanza of this lovely and emotional poem – and the lines, ”Reach, hold a star. Keep it near, duly sown, Into the linings of All; my true dreams alone.” are absolutely exquisite. I love this! ~ Love to you this day and always, dear friend, Julie xoxox

    Like

  4. Beautifully written 🙂
    I loved it when ya scripted:

    “Stay close to me now, through day or the night
    When I rise, stir to wake; all now seems bright
    By the grace of one thousand, or more if I am right,
    Lighted stars sown into the inside of my sight.”

    Happy Writing 🙂
    -Naima.

    Like

  5. This is truly spectacular, Linda–inspiring, beautiful. My words seem so empty–it’s hard to describe something you experience, rather than merely read.

    Like

    1. sincere thanks, Caddo. I am deeply touched that you “experienced” the poem, yet moved in my heart because I feel a similarity between us. and expression is the great “healer”. You have my love. Linda

      Like

  6. Linda, this is so lovely and shining with light, love and emotion and these two lines are simply stunning:
    “By the grace of one thousand, or more if I am right,
    Lighted stars sown into the inside of my sight.”

    Hugs and Blessings to you tonight!

    Like

    1. thank you, Lauren. The last line came out so easily, not labored; it surprised me! I was interested in the “personal I voice that injected itself,….if I am right…..Thank you for your presence here, Love Linda

      Like

    1. There is something that stirs me as well about the last line, it seemed to speak before written. It and the rest of the poem was a beautiful experience to write. Thank you so much, Betty!

      Like

Comments are closed.