“What was Lost in the Wake” ~The Poetry of Linda Willows

Come home. Come now. Come home to me.
There was a life of our own; overthrown, don’t you see.
In the shadow of memories I called out to your nights
Yet in pieces and slices, my own cries held no rights.

Come to me now, even come to me, late.
I’ve grown old and I’ve bent all the way to forsake.
I can’t give you still what was lost in the wake.
Such grieving pulled down in some eternal thief’s take.

I could bring what I own and set table for you.
It is humble, bare, yet my soul is there too.
Come sit with me, my sons, I have so much to tell.
My heart lives here with you. Even after all Fell.

©2012 Linda Willows

 

 

 

 

.

14 thoughts on ““What was Lost in the Wake” ~The Poetry of Linda Willows

  1. Dearest Linda, of the things I know for certain ~ only these ~ always throw salt over your left shoulder ~ plant rosemary by your garden gate ~ add pepper to your cantaloupe ~ nurture roses and lavender, for luck ~ and fall in love whenever you can. ~ This is enough. Enough to keep you warm long beyond your days. ~ Lovely, as ever! ~ Bobbie

    Like

  2. Oh Wow, oh WOW–I’m rendered dumb, Linda. Such a yearning pull in this one, and I’m just taken along.

    Like

  3. Thank you for sharing . this beautiful poetry!
    “Come to me now, even come to me, late.
    I’ve grown old and I’ve bent all the way to forsake.
    I can’t give you still what was lost in the wake.
    Such grieving pulled down in some eternal thief’s take.”

    Like

Comments are closed.