In my Hearts’ Vault


(photo by Yofi Soetono)
In My Heart’s Vault

In my Heart I believed that I would be Loved by One
A long time ago before my dreams crashed to none.
Before sweetly, in ivory gown and bridal blush
I promised to Love, Cherish, and to purely Trust.

I was certain that vows would protect from the past
Scars entombed could not surely outlast.
The pledge of my life, my future now cast.
This was the moment of innocence last grasp.

Years later I woke to Vows broken like glass
with silent screams swallowed like tear drops enmasse.
Love and dreams torn to dust in nightmare
And the ache of such loss deep beyond my repair.

Life journeyed on with all strangled by pain
Even breath could not conceal the heart’s deepest membrane.
I did not fathom that I was but half alive
Until life seemed remote, like a distance survived.

These are the wounds of a bare hearts milieu
Left alone and defenseless at betrayal’s adieu
Would that promise of Love come once more,
I might pause and pray before answering the door

The dust that lingers in my heart’s vault
Would love to be freed and given all to exalt.
To sear the past that was betrayed and doomed
That Hope may rise and declare all wounds exhumed.

On my knees I beseech such longing to let go
And never relive the pasts’ dark echo.
Let Love circle all and gathers the dust
Of earthly binds and even false trust.

Take me through the door that may lead
To an unyielding “yes” when asked if I plead
That love run through each breath and reaching vein
And never fear entry into my own heart again.

©2012 Linda Willows

16 thoughts on “In my Hearts’ Vault

  1. Wonderfully rhythmical and well-lined poem to express the hear’t desire to be completely healed from the wounds of the past and open up once again to JOY and LOVE! Thank for such poignant sharing, dear Linda!

    Like

  2. Dear Linda, dear friend … Your lovely poem brought tears to my eyes and an ache in my heart for you. “I was certain that vows would protect from the past / Scars entombed could not surely outlast. / The pledge of my life, my future now cast. / This was the moment of innocence last grasp.” … I understand, sister of my heart … I understand, and I am here, and I am listening. I’m proud of you for writing this poem, beyond the tears. You are inviting the love and healing you deserve, and I know that you will receive it. You are loved, you are a worthy and beautiful soul, and you have a pure and loving spirit. God bless you and keep you close in His heart. You are in mine, and I send prayers, hugs and love to you, dear friend. ~ Love, Julie xox

    Like

  3. Linda, every word and line is great–I’m honing in on “let love circle all and gather the dust…even false trust”. So RICH. God bless you abundantly.

    Like

Comments are closed.