Would the Land Take Me In


Just the tips of my weathered and sweet spring frock
Dip into cool waters as I rest upon my rock.
Oh creek and meadow, how I savor thee.
You are alive and bestow my sanctuary.

Sitting as I do in your home filled with grace
I am humbled, awed, and in love with your place.
I know each boulder, rock and flower throughout
That sustains, survives and faces the waters’ route.

Hands dip in to touch the life and savor the call
Of bounty that sings of nature’s treasured All.
The meadow flowers lean in to worship and adorn
And branches fold near, close to be born.

I would be home on this rock in the sun rays,
Would the land take me in for all of my Days.

©2012 Linda Willows

22 thoughts on “Would the Land Take Me In

  1. This is enchanting, Linda, and your graceful words drew me in, as though I was there…
    “Hands dip in to touch the life and savor the call
    Of bounty that sings of nature’s treasured All.” Just lovely~ xx

    Like

  2. Every line shows the connection with nature! Very beautifully described the whole scene….it gave me the real feel of the place!
    “Sitting as I do in your home filled with
    grace
    I am humbled, awed, and in love with
    your place.
    I know each boulder, rock and flower
    throughout That sustains, survives and faces the
    waters’ route.”
    These lines are my fav.
    Nice post 🙂

    Like

  3. You have sent me back, back, back into those lazy days of summer in Mississippi childhood where I dawdled by the creek down the hill and across the meadow from my mother’s eye gazing out from the kitchen to call me in to help with supper! Magical and very precious! Thank you!

    Like

    1. What bliss was laid out for us in the creek and the meadow. I am glad that your memories were stirred. It is precious and feels like “revival”, Love, Linda

      Like

  4. Absolutely lovely, Linda, I love it, especially the last two lines … just beautiful. (I also love your new photo) ~ Love, Julie xox

    Like

  5. This was so stunning Linda! A heartfelt tribute to a special little nook of nature. I felt your love and adoration of this place and could feel myself there with you. Beautiful job well done.
    hugs
    Celeste

    Like

Comments are closed.