May I Gather One Rose?

May I Gather One Rose?

Each morning I wake
To a single day’s call
Without a bid to converse
With the future at all.

A breeze from the curtains
Does lift and sway
With sealed message of secrets
Swept into this day.

Light or dark, rain, sun or cold;
It all moves throughout,
With duty and purpose bold.
God’s landscape reveals
Ancient mysteries untold.

Might I gather one rose
Before it is called to unfold?
It gives me some gain
Yet I destroy the life
Before it bears the fate so ordained.

I am chosen by each hour
As the sun makes its way
Through valley, mountain, desert
And the ocean’s eve display.

A single step in God’s garden
Can ever be known.
You cannot take tomorrow’s wind
And bring it today, home.

Nature’s true moments
Are given to equate all desire,
Then each and every treasure
Becomes a world entire.

©2011 Linda Willows

6 thoughts on “May I Gather One Rose?

  1. I just told Wendell I needed one more walk before
    night completely falls to feel the flowers I have blooming
    your words express how I feel when I walk through my gardens, especially the roses
    stunning in the picture you paint, I see each brush stroke you have touched
    on the canvas….
    a gardeners heart beats within….
    Thank you for sharing….
    Take care..
    )0(
    ladyblue

    Like

    1. thank you….yes I was a gardener, and loved it so much! that is why I knew how much you would care about a poppy seed….I am glad that you enjoyed the poem….love, Linda

      Like

Comments are closed.